I handed in my building application two weeks ago. After several talks with the planning people, it’s become clear that it’s not going to be easy to get a permit. I won’t go into all of it right now, but while I thought it was going to be easy, it’s turned out to be far from easy.

As I’m deviating from the planning rules in the street, there’s a public investigations first. This means that neighbours get the chance to view the plans, etc. and write a protest if they don’t agree with certain parts. This takes a month. After that, the planning people and city council have 3 months to either approve or deny the building application. In case I get a no, I’ll have to appeal at the province. So basically the following months consist of waiting and waiting.

It’s rather silly that I have to wait that extra month. The planning rules are so strict, there isn’t a single house in the street that follows them. I’m building the same height as my two next door neighbours, yet, this is higher than what the rules say. If I wanted to follow the rules, I’d have to build lower but that wouldn’t exactly look good. The rules also say sloped roof. I have a small balcony on the top floor. This obviously isn’t sloped so that’s a deviation too. Half of the houses in the street have a flat roof, but never mind that.

Anyhow…on with the waiting.

