There’s been a short delay because the wait for the steel support for the facade bricks above the windows is taking longer than anticipated. But at the same time, it’s not really a delay as they’re ahead of schedule anyway.

This picture was taken last week, when they put up the steel structures for the roof. All that is left to be done for the main contractor is finish off the rest of the brickwork, something they’ll do next week.

View inside of the double height window at the back. It feels very spacious.

View from the front.

I’m planning on putting some kind of scaffolding in the giant hole that goes from ground floor to the top, where the staircases are going to be. The stairs itself won’t be installed until near the end, so meanwhile I have to think of a safe way for builders to get to the other floors. Getting to the first floor isn’t a problem. But there’s no way to get to the second as there’s no bit of floor on the 1st floor, to put a ladder on (now the builders make a temporary floor out of wood).

I went to a scaffolding firm last week but was basically told “to just get a ladder”. A ladder that spans 4 floors?!!! Apparently they exist, but it doesn’t seem very safe to me. I suppose I’ll get my father to pay another firm a visit. A young woman doesn’t always get taken seriously, unfortunately.

I’ll have to think of something quick as the builders will finish their part next week and then they’re off with their material and ladders.

Then I’ll have to wait and see when the carpenter can start on the roof structure. I was a little late in getting one, I suppose. I underestimated the speed of construction and how quickly time flies. There’s just so much to take into consideration. I’ve ordered the windows, the carpenter, am awaiting price offer for roof tiles, etc, got offer for insulation side walls, dry walls inside, doors, staircase, kitchen, bathroom, heating, ventilation, floors, tiles, etc…So many decisions to make.

The heating and ventilation especially is doing my head in. This is what I do on a daily basis, designing and calculating HVAC installations for buildings (HVAC= heating ventilation air conditioning) so you’d expect my own house would be easy. Well, far from it. But I’ll leave that for another post.

